IACC 2018 Election

IACC 2018 Election

IACC 2018 Shura Election Notification

Dated: Oct 2, 2018

Dear IACC Community Members, Assalamu’alaikum warahmatullahi wabarakatuh,

As per the IACC constitution, The Shura has appointed a Commission to conduct the elections this year. The following is a calendar of events leading up to the elections for both the Shura and Ameer. Please review the requirements for both nominee and nominator.

Submit nomination or withdrawal forms for candidates in a drop­box in the IACC office. Electronic or scanned copies will not be accepted.

All voters must be registered members at the Islamic Association of Collin County living at an address in Collin County for at least six months. Verification of membership and proof of address are required for voting.

Voters with unique circumstances (e.g. change of name or change of address) are encouraged to vote during Early Voting sessions.

IACC Ameer and Shura Candidate Profiles


Oct 5th (Friday) Nomination forms available at the IACC office.
Oct 11th(Thursday) Nomination of candidates for Shura & Ameer starts – drop off fully completed forms in the drop-box in the IACC front office.
Oct 22nd (Monday) Last day to submit nomination of candidates for Shura & Ameer, deadline: 8:30pm. Submit nomination forms in the drop-box in IACC office.
Oct 25th (Thursday) Last day to withdraw nomination, deadline: 8:30pm. Candidates must submit nomination withdrawal form at IACC office. Completed forms must personally handed over to one of the Election Commission Members.
Oct 25th (Thursday) Election Commission may request candidates to provide further details, clarifications and may ask to meet the commission.
Oct 26th (Friday) Publish the Final list of Candidates after Jummah prayer.
Oct 27th (Saturday) Mandatory Code of Conduct meeting by all candidates with Election Commission after Dhuhr – 2.30 pm to 3.30 pm.
Nov 3rd (Saturday)  Meet the Candidates Session from 2:30pm – 4:30pm. It is an opportunity for the entire community to get to know their candidates and ask questions.
Nov 13th (Tuesday) Early voting (12:30pm – 1:30pm) time for Seniors only

Early voting (1:30pm – 3:00pm) time for Sisters only

Nov 14th (Wednesday) Early voting (1:30pm – 2:30pm) time for Sisters only
Nov 15th (Thursday) Early voting (6:00pm – 9:00pm)
Nov 16th (Friday) Early voting (12:00pm – 4:00pm)
Nov 17th (Saturday) Final Early Voting (1:00pm 3:00pm)
Nov 25th (Sunday) General Election between 10:00am to 5:00pm
Nov 25th (Sunday) Vote counting begins after Maghrib salah. Election results announced once the counting is completed. Voting results can be monitored live on video stream.

Election Commission 2018:

  1. Br. Syed Ansari
  2. Sr. Hina Asif
  3. Br. Shamim Mazumder
  4. Br. Ayaz Quraishi
  5. Br. Abdul Rahim
  6. Br. Tabish Eijaz
  7. Br. Mahammed Najjar

Contact Info: electioncommission@planomasjid.org

IACC 2018 Election Etiquette